Alan Swinford, Chief 
Office Number: (815) 802-7100
Contact Us

The Kankakee County Sheriff’s Office Patrol Division consists of 30 Sworn Patrol Officers. The Patrol Division Officers patrol 640 square mile of urban and rural Kankakee County they perform general police work in the protection of life and property, prevention of crime, preservation of public peace, maintain social order, enforce the laws and investigate of crimes, and perform related work as required. Patrol Officers also service the Kankakee County Court House and Judicial System.

The Patrol Division is divided into three patrol shifts that patrol rural and urban Kankakee County 24 hours a day 365 days a year.



Patrol Division Chief

  • Chief Alan Swinford

Patrol Lieutenant:

  • Lt. Ed Zopf

Officers assigned to the Patrol Division may be assigned to work various positions or specialty units within the Patrol Division.

  • Kankakee County Court House Security
  • Kankakee County Annex Building Security
  • School Resource Officer
  • Traffic Enforcement Unit (TEU)
  • Accident Reconstruction
  • Kankakee County SWAT Team
  • River Patrol Unit
  • Field Training Officer
  • Child Passenger Safety Officer
  • Kankakee County Fair Detail
  • Bears Camp Detail
  • Bourbonnais Friendship Festival
  • ILEAS Weapons of Mass Destruction Team
  • ILEAS Rapid Response Team
  • Hostage Negotiator
  • Decimeter Control Officer
  • Transportation of Jail Inmates

Patrol Sergeants:

  • Sgt. Kevin Kenison
  • Sgt. Andrew Bayston
  • Sgt. Doug Barwegen

Patrol Corporals:

  • Cpl. Derek Ryan
  • Cpl. Richard Berns
  • Cpl. Joel Littrell
  • Cpl. Todd Huntley
  • Cpl. Andrew Mackin
  • Cpl. Brent Laird
  • Cpl. Robert Lowey

Patrol Division Equipment:

  • Patrol Officers are assigned a take home squad.
  • Bullet proof vest
  • Police radio
  • Phone
  • In car camera system
  • Panasonic computer
  • Radar unit
  • Safety equipment
  • AED
  • Taser
  • In car mobile reporting system
  • ATV’s
  • Jet skis
  • Clothing allotment